First 2 Weeks in Our New Home

Happy Tuesday!

Today hasn’t been very adventurous aside from going to my Pure Barre class (I’ll fill you in more on that later this week), getting my oil changed in my car, and receiving some correspondence from my new job. So instead of going into further detail on today, I thought I would reminisce on the last two weeks, or rather the first two weeks of us living in Charleston.

During the first week, we got everything moved into our apartment and then our caravan actually stayed in town until later in the week so we were able to spend more time with them before everyone left.

 

Moving to Charleston

(All of our things stuffed into the trailer, ready for the 1,200 mile trip)

 

 

The first night in Charleston we went to Coast, a gem when it comes to seafood. I usually don’t like seafood very much but their crab encrusted tilapia was really good! After supper we walked down King Street for awhile before heading back and sitting by the pool.

Coast

On day two, we spent some time at the beach then went to lunch at East Bay Deli. We did more walking/shopping on King Street before we went to supper at Jim ‘n Nick’s BBQ. Delish!! Besides their BBQ, their cheddar biscuits were to die for!

Isle of Palms Beach Day Jim 'n Nick's BBQ

Next day while Cody and his dad went golfing, the rest of us went to the boutique where I found my wedding gown and showed them 🙂 I truly love the dress I picked! After that we split up. While Cody and his family did their thing, my parents, friend Marci, and I went to brunch at this cool place called Poogan’s Porch. It is an old house converted into a restaurant and is named after the family dog. After filling up, we went to Boone Hall Plantation in the heat, looked at the slave cabins and toured the house itself. For supper that night we took our families to Mellow Mushroom and treated them to supper for Father’s Day. We did some driving around, drove past Rainbow Row and Battery Park, before heading back home.

Boone Hall Plantation

On the final day, we said goodbye to Cody’s family in the morning and took Marci to the airport. My parents weren’t leaving until later so we had breakfast with them at Charleston’s Cafe, the #1 breakfast place online (and you know the Internet is always right ;). Once we were finished eating, we took Cody back to the apartment and I spent some time with my parents, exploring and shopping, before they had to leave.

We are so happy that they were able to help us move out here and also stay and experience the city with us right away! Love you all!

Since they have left, we have done a few things on our own. Our apartment is fully put away and my homey 🙂 We really do love our first apartment!

Apartment Apartment

We have also went to our first movie here, ate at some new restaurants and frozen yogurt/ice cream places, did some shopping, went to the farmer’s market downtown, hung out at Folly Beach, attended a new church, visited the aquarium, and established somewhat of a routine.

Collective Coffee Co. Ye Olde Fashioned Ice Cream Downtown Charleston Farmer's Market  SC Aquarium

Cody has since started his new job and loves it! And I even found myself a job!!

There are so many things we hope and plan to do and we can’t wait to continue on this great adventure!

Our New Home

Leave a Reply

