Teacher Talk {8/7}

Yay it’s Friday! It’s actually felt like a pretty fast-moving week despite being in some sort of training since Tuesday.

Speaking of training, that is what I would like to talk about today in Teacher Talk. I am thinking about making these “Teacher Talk” posts a Tuesday theme. What do you think?

For the past two and half days, I have been a part of a training called “Capturing Kids’ Hearts” (click the link for a more detailed explanation of the program).

Capturing Kids' Hearts

This is a training that was required for all of us new employees to partake in. CKH is a program that our entire school uses and correlates well with Personalized Learning, another concept that the school has implemented. Both programs are about building a positive classroom climate and culture, instilling student ownership, and working towards mastery. Even though this training was mandatory, it never felt that way and I learned SO, SO much during the process!

Here are the top things I gained from this process:

–I am working with an amazing school and supportive staff! These past couple of days has allowed me to build connections with other new employees and experience how we are all in this together.

–The EXCEL model is crucial to making my classroom work well: Engage, Xplore, Communicate, Empower, Launch.

–There are a lot of components and steps through the process, they take time, and both the students and I will make mistakes.

–CKH deals not only with relationships in the classroom, but my personal relationships too.

–I need to relinquish some of my control, both in my classroom and at home.

–Open-ended questions are important in communication, especially with being a good listener.

–There are stages to growing each group: security takes time and every group is different.

–When security and relational capacity increase, anxiety decreases, which leads to increased performance.

–To personally grow, you need to self-assess, self-control, and self-direct; you also can’t grow without feedback and accountability.

–When this process is set into action and used consistently, the teaching of content and everything else will fall into place.

I am very excited to implement this process into my classroom and my home. I can’t wait to see how I grow as a teacher and as a person!

One of my favorite parts of the training was the giving and receiving of affirmations. It felt so empowering to make people feel good about themselves and also hear about how you have positively impacted others! This is something we are to include our classrooms for our students. So, at the training we did both verbal and written affirmations. At the end of the training, we collected a paper bag we had decorated with our name and adjective that was filled with written affirmations from other trainees. And let me just say, it felt AMAZING to hear all the positive words other had to say about me. It made me feel like I made a difference (the whole reason I’m in teaching) 🙂

Affirmations Affirmations

If you have any questions about Capturing Kids’ Hearts, I will be happy to try and answer them 🙂

Have a great weekend!!

One thought on “Teacher Talk {8/7}

  1. Pingback: Teacher Talk {8/21} | Passionately Southern

Leave a Reply

