Had A Merry Little Christmas Break

Happy New Year everyone! I hope everyone had a great holiday, I know we did!

We headed back to Iowa to spend the holidays with our families and friends. (For a visual of my and Cody’s Christmas before we left, check it out on Instagram!) We flew in on Christmas Eve and let me tell you… it snowed on and off most of the time we were there. Really?! I wished for a white Christmas but not all that got dumped on us haha!

We had so much fun and also accomplished a lot for our wedding, which I will do a separate post on soon. I took a lot of pictures so I will let them do most of the talking 🙂

Started out Christmas Eve night with the gathering at Cody’s grandparents’ house.

Had A Merry Little Christmas Break

Afterwards, we headed to his parents’ house and did our presents Christmas Eve. Us kids did a gift exchange and Cody’s brother brought an extra gift that had light sabers in it… let’s just say that was a hit gift!

Had A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas Break

Christmas morning we woke up to a white Christmas, egg sausage casserole and cinnamon rolls! YUM!

After breakfast we headed to Cody’s other grandparents’ for that Christmas then came back to the house when his grandma and aunt, uncle, and cousins came over.

Had A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas Break

Had A Merry Little Christmas Break

The best part of that morning was when Grandma Sue opened her gift from us kids 🙂

Christmas afternoon we headed to my parents’ house. When we arrived, we got a chance to tour all the hard work my parents did, especially in the basement for when we got there. It was all so great!

Had A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas Break

When my brother arrived, we did stockings first then ate supper: turkey AND ham, twice baked potatoes, corn, and rolls! Love them!

Had A Merry Little Christmas Break

After supper, we enjoyed opening gifts together 🙂

Had A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas Break

Can’t go a Christmas without snapping some pics of my babies 🙂

Loved my gifts and definitely don’t need to go shopping for quite a while!

After we opened gifts, we ate some pie for dessert and played some games, a fun holiday tradition.

Had A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas Break

Saturday the 26th included shopping for our wedding bands, lunch with my parents at The Other Place, and running errands before our little gathering that night where some friends came over.

Had A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas Break

Later that night we had the chance to meet with some friends 🙂

Screenshot_2015-12-26-23-56-10

Sunday the 27th I got the chance to sleep in a little bit while Cody went pheasant hunting. After I got up, mom and I went to check out some mother of the bride dresses. Later that afternoon we went to the gun range where I shot a gun for the first time. My dad and brother as well as Cody have an interest in guns so it was fun to see them in their element.

Afterwards we headed out to supper then went over to check out my brother’s new house and to play video games with them.

Had A Merry Little Christmas Break

Monday the 28th was our wedding planning day! I will do a separate post about those details soon.

Tuesday the 29th my dad took the day off to spend it with us. We went out for breakfast to J’s Homestyle and I ordered their HUGE pancakes!

We then headed over to the tux place to pick out the tuxedos for the men in the wedding before they all came Thursday to be fitted.

We headed to Main Street to walk the shops and check out any new additions, including a chocolate shop! OMG!

Had A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas BreakHad A Merry Little Christmas Break

That night I went out to eat with Marci and Kelly to Tony’s, which it was amazing to see them and the food was good too!

Wednesday the 30th we headed back up to Cody’s parents’. We hung out that afternoon and Wednesday night we went out to eat at Brown Bottle and FINALLY went to see Star Wars! So good!!

Had A Merry Little Christmas Break

New Years Eve consisted of us getting ready during the day for the get-together that night!

New Years Day was pretty chill, mostly watching bowl games and the rose parade. My parents came and got me a little earlier and I had some delicious turkey and noodles with my family and Cody came back later.

Yesterday we had a very early flight to come back here to SC. As much as I enjoyed being with our family and friends, I am happy to be back in our home and not have snow outside to trench through 🙂

I hope y’all’s holiday was as special as ours!

Have a great week! I’m heading back to work tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

