First Meatless Meal!

Part of my new year resolutions is to try a new recipe every week. Last week was my first new recipe that I got from Thug Kitchen, a cookbook I got from Cody for Christmas. It is a vegan cookbook that I had originally heard about from my friend Marci. With all the different things they have in it, I went for something similar to our taste buds: tortilla soup!

First Meatless Meal

First Meatless Meal

Start by chopping all the veggies, garlic, and cut the corn tortillas. I chopped the veggies a little smaller because I’m not good with large chunks.

First Meatless Meal

After you’re done chopping, saute the onions in the oil.

Then I added the carrots and bell peppers. We left out the jalapenos since I wasn’t sure how spicy they would make it.

Added in the garlic, spices, and salt. Started to smell amazing!!

First Meatless Meal

Add in the diced tomatoes and tomato paste, stir really well. Then add vegetable broth and let come to a simmer. Add the lime juice and corn tortillas, stir then gently simmer for about 10 minutes until the tortillas are soft.

First Meatless Meal

The recipe then tells you to blend everything. I don’t have an immersion blender, so I put it in my Ninja. I think I overblended mine just a little bit but oh well!

Add chickpeas to the soup before you eat it up! Honestly, I liked it better as leftovers when the chickpeas were cooked a little bit, but it was still so good!

Weekend Recap + Food & Fitness #21

We also ate it with tortilla chips on the side. This was our first fully meatless meal and I’m glad it went so well! I’m really proud of us to start stepping out of our comfort zone 🙂

I hope you enjoy!

One thought on “First Meatless Meal!

  1. Pingback: Flautas, Vegan Style! | Passionately Southern

Leave a Reply

