Closet Overhaul #2

For people who know me, they know I love clothes and style! After receiving some great pieces for Christmas, I officially ran out of hangers in my closet.

Had A Merry Little Christmas Break

Now, some people would not see that as a problem and would just go get more hangers. But for me, 1) I don’t have a ton of space in my closet and 2) Having options is great but I want to make sure I’m wearing all the things I love!

Closet Overhaul #2

My goal would be to cut down my closet by 25% (at least when it comes to the hangers). I feel that will be enough to space my things out and be able to see and love what I have 🙂

Closet Overhaul #2

When I think about how many pairs of shoes other people have, I don’t feel too bad about my shoe collection. There are a couple of pairs that I could get rid of if I really thought about it.

Closet Overhaul #2

When I get home from work, I love to change into my comfies, which is a pair of sweatpants or leggings and a sweatshirt. So, I have gained a collection over the past couple of years and wear them all (surprisingly!).

Closet Overhaul #2

So how am I going to tackle this feat?

In the past, I have taken every piece out, put it on, and decided that way while thinking about its use and likeability. When I think back to all the things I used to have and how my closet has changed is amazing!

But this time I want to do it differently. I have decided to jump on the train driven by Jessica over at Here & Now where she is trying to wear everything in her wardrobe then decide which items will stay and which will go. I think this is a great idea because it gets you to focus on each item separately and how it works for you and with other pieces in the closet. (Thanks for the idea Jess!) I plan to continue logging my outfits like I usually do (through photographing each outfit) then do a update monthly about the progress.

If this doesn’t help me, I am planning on reading Marie Kondo’s book this year, so I would apply her methods to my closet.

To help myself see what all I really have, I am going to do a closet inventory, which I plan to share with you later next week!

Wish me luck!

Any tips/tricks you have? Do you have a similar [good] problem?

2 thoughts on “Closet Overhaul #2

  1. I agree. I have alot of clothes. I’ve been wearing things and then deciding on if I want to keep or donate. And turning my hangers so I wear everything. Love momma

    Like

  2. Pingback: Closet Inventory | Passionately Southern

Leave a Reply

